California wildfire victims are eligible for mortgage and tax payment relief

Personal Finance

At the same time, the IRS has also extended deadlines for certain tax payments for those who were directly hit by the blazes, as well as firefighters and relief workers who are helping the afflicted areas.

The IRS relief targets seven California counties: Butte, Lake, Mendocino, Napa, Nevada, Sonoma and Yuba.

Individual taxpayers and businesses now have until Jan. 31 for certain payments and returns that were originally due starting from Oct. 8.

This includes filing of 2016 individual income tax returns that were extended to Oct. 16. “Because tax payments related to these 2016 returns were originally due on April 18, 2017, those payments are not eligible for this relief,” the IRS noted.

It also includes the Jan. 16 deadline for quarterly estimated tax payments.

The agency will automatically help taxpayers with addresses on record in the affected areas. As a result, most individuals will not need to contact the agency.

Taxpayers seeking relief but who do not live in the designated areas, such as firefighters and aid workers, should call the IRS at 866-562-5227.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Advice I got from a mentor at 22 years old that I use
PepsiCo (PEP) Q1 2021 earnings beat
IRS is probing the dark web to look for cryptocurrency, NFT tax evasion
American Eagle says first-quarter sales set to top $1 billion
Coca-Cola (KO) Q1 2021 earnings beat Street estimates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *